Seven faculty members receive nods from Academy of Medical Educators

By Nicholas Roznovsky

Seven members of the University of California, San Francisco Department of Psychiatry faculty have been selected for recognition by the UCSF Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (AME), with three slated to become members and another four to be saluted for excellence in teaching. All will be celebrated at the academy's annual Celebration of New Members on Wednesday, September 26, 2018. 

Working closely with UCSF's Office of Medical Education, AME delivers ambitious programs to teachers across the medical education continuum at UCSF, and its members play a leading role in medical education locally and nationally. The academy was among the first cross-departmental programs in the country designated to broadly support and advance the teaching mission.

Hasser, Lee, Rose named as members of Class of 2018



Three UCSF Psychiatry faculty educators will join AME as new members, joining nine of their fellow department members. These inductees have been chosen for demonstrated excellence in the direct teaching of medical students, residents, fellows, and/or faculty development for teachers/educators. New members also demonstrate outstanding accomplishments in one or more additional areas of medical education activity: mentoring and advising; curriculum development, instructional design and technology; educational leadership; and learner assessment.

  • Caitlin Hasser, MD, is a health sciences associate clinical professor based at the San Francisco VA Medical Center (SFVAMC), where she directs the women's mental health program. She is actively involved in teaching, program development, and projects related to women's mental health including intimate partner violence screening. She serves as the SFVAMC site director for the UCSF Adult Psychiatry Residency Training Program and mentors trainees with interests in women's mental health, interpersonal trauma, program planning, and integrated models of care.
  • Kewchang Lee, MD, is also located at SFVAMC, where he is a health sciences clinical professor, director of the UCSF Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Fellowship Program, site director for psychiatry medical student education, and director of the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Health Care System (SFVAHCS)'s consultation unit. His interests include primary care and mental health integration, cross-cultural psychiatry, and medical education.
  • Demian Rose, MD, PhD, is a health sciences associate clinical professor based at Parnassus Heights, director of didactic curriculum for the UCSF Adult Psychiatry Residency Training Program, medical director of the UCSF Path Program, and the UCSF School of Medicine's psychiatry clerkship director.  In addition to medical education, his focuses include neuroscience education and psychotic disorders.

Four faculty members to be recognized for teaching

In addition, four of the department's clinician-educators will be receive 2018 Excellence in Teaching Awards. These peer-nominated awards for teaching faculty highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows at all UCSF teaching sites who often go unrecognized.

  • Andrea Rosati, MD, PhD, is a health sciences assistant clinical professor and an an attending inpatient psychiatrist at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center. She completed her residency in psychiatry at UCSF, where she served as Chief Resident for Education during her fourth year and was honored with a 2017 UCSF GME Excellence and Innovation Award for her work towards advancing graduate medical education at the university.
  • Emma Samelson-Jones, MD, is a health sciences assistant clinical professor and attending psychiatrist in the UCSF Psychotic Experiences Clinic and Adult Psychiatry Clinic at Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital and Clinics, as well as in the primary care practice of the Division of General Internal Medicine at Mt. Zion. In 2017, she received a Henry J. Kaiser Award for Excellence in Teaching from the UCSF School of Medicine, and was selected earlier this year as a recipient of UCSF Health's Outstanding Physician Award.
  • Tauheed Zaman, MD, is a health sciences assistant clinical professor at SFVAMC, where he is the medical director for the addiction and opioid safety consultation service. He is also associate director of the UCSF Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship Program and an active member of the California Society of Addiction Medicine. 
  • Leila Zwelling, LCSW, is also an SFVAMC-based health sciences assistant clinical professor, assistant director of the SFVAHCS Women's Mental Health Program and director of the Interpersonal Psychotherapy Program. She also coordinates and supervises trainees in the SFVAMC Women's Integrated Care Clinic, providing mental health treatment and consultation in the primary care setting.

About UCSF Psychiatry

The UCSF Department of Psychiatry, UCSF Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital and Clinics, and the Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute are among the nation's foremost resources in the fields of child, adolescent, adult, and geriatric mental health. Together they constitute one of the largest departments in the UCSF School of Medicine and the UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences, with a mission focused on research (basic, translational, clinical), teaching, patient care, and public service.

UCSF Psychiatry conducts its clinical, educational and research efforts at a variety of locations in Northern California, including UCSF campuses at Parnassus Heights, Mission Bay and Laurel Heights, UCSF Medical Center, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, the San Francisco VA Health Care System, and UCSF Fresno.

About the UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences

The UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences, established by the extraordinary generosity of Joan and Sanford I. "Sandy" Weill, brings together world-class researchers with top-ranked physicians to solve some of the most complex challenges in the human brain.

The UCSF Weill Institute leverages UCSF’s unrivaled bench-to-bedside excellence in the neurosciences. It unites three UCSF departments—Neurology, Psychiatry, and Neurological Surgery—that are highly esteemed for both patient care and research, as well as the Neuroscience Graduate Program, a cross-disciplinary alliance of nearly 100 UCSF faculty members from 15 basic-science departments, as well as the UCSF Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases, a multidisciplinary research center focused on finding effective treatments for Alzheimer’s disease, frontotemporal dementia, Parkinson’s disease, and other neurodegenerative disorders.

About UCSF

UC San Francisco (UCSF) is a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide through advanced biomedical research, graduate-level education in the life sciences and health professions, and excellence in patient care. It includes top-ranked graduate schools of dentistry, medicine, nursing and pharmacy; a graduate division with nationally renowned programs in basic, biomedical, translational and population sciences; and a preeminent biomedical research enterprise.

It also includes UCSF Health, which comprises three top-ranked hospitals – UCSF Medical Center and UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospitals in San Francisco and Oakland – as well as Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital and Clinics, UCSF Benioff Children’s Physicians, and the UCSF Faculty Practice. UCSF Health has affiliations with hospitals and health organizations throughout the Bay Area. UCSF faculty also provide all physician care at the public Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, and the San Francisco VA Medical Center. The UCSF Fresno Medical Education Program is a major branch of the University of California, San Francisco’s School of Medicine.